Uncle Bonsai’s ‘Penis Envy’ is your Folk Alliance International Song of the Day

The International Folk Alliance Conference & Winter Music Camp comes to KC February 19-23. To get you geared up for the folk blowout, every day we’re posting a song we like by one of the event’s showcase artists. 

One of the many great things about the FAI Conference is that it brings together folk artists across generations from all different parts of the world – and some of the showcase guests are totally unexpected (but no less delightful). Case in point: Uncle Bonsai, the 1980s folk trio that gave us the groundbreaking album Boys Want Sex in the Morning, featuring such gems as “Don’t Put It in Your Mouth” and “Cheerleaders on Drugs.” The original trio comprises Andrew Ratshin, Arni Adler and Ashley O’Keeffe, though in recent years, Patrice O’Neill has replaced O’Keeffe. 

Here’s a vintage video of the sparkly, snarky little fan fave “Penis Envy.” Satirical gold, folks. 

For more information on the FAI and the upcoming conference, go here.

See also:

#23: John Fullbright’s “Gawd Above”
#22: Grant Lee Phillips’ “Walking in the Green Corn”
#21: The Carper Family’s “Foolish Ramblin’ Man”
#20: The Black Lillies’ “The Fall”
#19: Ganstagrass’ “Long Hard Times to Come”
#18: Chuck Mead’s “Girl on the Billboard”
#17: Jordie Lane’s “Feet Fall”
#16: The Howlin’ Brothers “Big Fall” 

#15: Jadea Kelly’s “Lone Wolf”
#14: The Sweet Lowdown’s “Red Shift Blues”
#13: The Stray Birds’ “Time in Squares”
#12: SHEL’s “Lost at Sea” 

Categories: Music