Pony Tale

The Kansas City Repertory Theatre just gave us director Moisés Kaufman’s lavish, triumphant Into the Woods. Next month, the Rep is hatching that new musical version of A Christmas Story, a Broadway-bound world premiere almost certain to be as grand, lavish, etc., as the Christmas Carol it replaces. In between, here’s the life-sized Palomino. Crafted and performed by writer, actor, director, monologist, rock singer and Obie Award-winner David Cale, Palomino is a small, human drama about the secret life of a Central Park carriage driver. It’s a one-man show so intimate that the Rep is selling tickets only for the lower half of the Copaken theater. (And those are moving fast.) The play, also a world premeire, runs until November 15 at the Copaken Stage in the H&R Block Building (13th Street and Walnut). For tickets, call 816-235-2700 or see kcrep.org.

Thu., Oct. 15, 7 p.m.; Fri., Oct. 16, 8 p.m.; Sat., Oct. 17, 2 & 8 p.m.; Sun., Oct. 18, 2 & 7 p.m.; Tue., Oct. 20, 7 p.m.; Wed., Oct. 21, 7 p.m.; Thu., Oct. 22, 7 p.m.; Fri., Oct. 23, 8 p.m.; Sat., Oct. 24, 2 & 8 p.m.; Sun., Oct. 25, 2 & 7 p.m.; Tue., Oct. 27, 7 p.m.; Wed., Oct. 28, 7 p.m.; Thu., Oct. 29, 7 p.m.; Fri., Oct. 30, 8 p.m.; Sat., Oct. 31, 2 & 8 p.m.; Sun., Nov. 1, 2 p.m.; Tue., Nov. 3, 7 p.m.; Wed., Nov. 4, 7 p.m.; Thu., Nov. 5, 7 p.m.; Fri., Nov. 6, 8 p.m.; Sat., Nov. 7, 3 & 8 p.m.; Sun., Nov. 8, 2 p.m.; Tue., Nov. 10, 7 p.m.; Wed., Nov. 11, 7 p.m.; Thu., Nov. 12, 7 p.m.; Fri., Nov. 13, 8 p.m.; Sat., Nov. 14, 3 & 8 p.m.; Sun., Nov. 15, 2 p.m., 2009

Categories: Theater