One Missouri Republican votes to rebuke Joe Wilson’s ‘You lie’ outburst

Congress voted yesterday on a resolution denouncing South Carolina Rep. Joe Wilson’s “You lie” outburst during President Obama’s speech to Congress. The resolution passed 240-179, and locally the vote fell on party lines, except one Missouri Republican: Jo Ann Emerson.

The New York Times
reported how every representative voted, and here’s the breakdown.

Joining Emerson in condemining Wilson’s attempt to turn the address into British Parliament were Kansas Rep. Dennis Moore and Missouri Reps. Emanuel Cleaver, Russ Carnahan and Wm. Lacy Clay.

Voting against the resolution (and apparently approving of Wilson’s “You lie” shriek) were Kansas Reps. Lynn Jenkins, Jerry Moran and Todd Tiahrt and Missouri Reps. Todd Akin, Roy Blunt, Sam Graves, and Blaine Luetkemeyer.

Missouri Rep. Ike Skelton voted present.

Categories: News, Politics