Mario Chalmers hits another big three … but should it have counted? (video)

In a game decided by two points, this buzzer-beating three-pointer at the end of the first quarter by Miami Heat point guard Mario Chalmers was a biggie. But should the shot by the former Kansas Jayhawk have counted? There’s a lot of argument out there. Pro Basketball Talk’s Kurt Helin and Ball Don’t Lie’s Kelly Dwyer say no, that it should have been a back-court violation.

However, RefCalls.com argues that the shot should have counted because the NBA’s rulebook doesn’t address the way that Chalmers caught the ball. I tend to agree with RefCalls’ interpretation. Either way, Chalmers’ shot alone didn’t sink the Dallas Mavericks, who missed free throws and open threes and somehow let Chris Bosh get open to hit the game winner. Still, seeing Chalmers hit a desperation three was another reminder of his overtime forcing, clutch three-pointer against Memphis in the 2008 NCAA finals.

Categories: News