Mail Drama

Perhaps you’re one of those who believes that philately has been ignored by the dramatists of the world for too long. You argue that the study of stamps has been relegated to academia and obscurity for years, while the stage has been dominated by such tired subjects as romance and politics. Pine no more, stamp enthusiasts. Starting tonight at 8, Mauritius — noted playwright Theresa Rebeck’s lively tale of two sisters and some stamps from the nation of the same name — opens at the Unicorn Theatre (3828 Main, 816-531-7529). The stamps, seemingly the province of collectors, spark an intense array of schemes and machinations among five main characters. The Tony-nominated, critically acclaimed show is fresh off a run on Broadway. For more information or for tickets ($20-$30), see unicorntheatre.org.

Fri., Oct. 17, 8 p.m.; Sat., Oct. 18, 3 & 8 p.m.; Sun., Oct. 19, 8 p.m.; Tue., Oct. 21, 7:30 p.m.; Wed., Oct. 22, 7:30 p.m.; Thu., Oct. 23, 7:30 p.m.; Fri., Oct. 24, 8 p.m.; Sat., Oct. 25, 8 p.m.; Sun., Oct. 26, 3 p.m.; Tue., Oct. 28, 7:30 p.m.; Wed., Oct. 29, 7:30 p.m.; Thu., Oct. 30, 7:30 p.m.; Fri., Oct. 31, 8 p.m.; Sat., Nov. 1, 8 p.m.; Sun., Nov. 2, 3 p.m.; Tue., Nov. 4, 7:30 p.m.; Wed., Nov. 5, 7:30 p.m.; Thu., Nov. 6, 7:30 p.m.; Fri., Nov. 7, 8 p.m.; Sat., Nov. 8, 8 p.m.; Sun., Nov. 9, 3 p.m., 2008