Here are the Kansas Republicans who just voted to oppose expanding Medicaid to 150,000 people

Last week, Kansas Gov. Sam Brownback vetoed a bill, passed by the Kansas Senate and House of Representatives, that would have expanded Medicaid in the state, effectively providing medical care to roughly 150,000 low-income Kansans. Though Democrats and many Republicans voted for Medicaid expansion, Brownback and other fringe conservatives believe denying health coverage to poor people is a bad idea to be avoided at any cost, political or otherwise.

The only chance of getting Medicaid expansion through this year was a veto override. That vote happened today in the House, but it fell three votes shy of the two-thirds override necessary. Medicaid will not be expanded in Kansas this year.

Who are the people who voted against expanding Medicaid? There were 44 of them, and they’re all Republicans. Representatives from the Kansas City metro area include Erin Davis, Randy Powell, Keith Esau, John Resman, Ron Ryckman, and Scott Schwab — all from Olathe. 

Abraham Rafie, who represents Overland Park, also voted against the override. So did Sean Tarwater. The full list: 

Tory Arnberger, R-Great Bend

Clay Aurand, R-Belleville

Francis Awerkamp, R-St. Marys

John Barker, R-Abilene

Doug Blex, R-Independence

Blake Carpenter, R-Derby

J.R. Claeys, R-Salina

Ken Corbet, R-Topeka

Erin Davis, R-Olathe

Pete DeGraaf, R-Mulvane

Leo Delperdang, R-Wichita

Willie Dove, R-Bonner Springs

Ron Ellis, R-Meridan

Keith Esau, R-Olathe

Blaine Finch, R-Ottawa

Shannon Francis, R-Liberal

Randy Garber, R-Sabetha

Dan Hawkins, R-Wichita

Ron Highland, R-Wamego

Kyle Hoffman, R-Coldwater

Michael Houser, R-Columbus

Steve Huebert, R-Valley Center

Susan Humphries, R-Wichita

Trevor Jacobs, R-Fort Scott

Kevin Jones, R-Wellsville

Greg Lakin, R-Wichita

Brenda Landwehr, R-Wichita

Les Mason, R-McPherson

Les Osterman, R-Wichita

Randy Powell, R-Olathe

Abraham Rafie, R-Overland Park

Ken Rahjes, R-Agra

John Resman, R-Olathe

Ron Ryckman, R-Olathe

Scott Schwab, R-Olathe

Joe Seiwert, R-Pretty Prairie

Eric Smith, R-Burlington

Bill Sutton, R-Gardner

Sean Tarwater, R-Stilwell

Jack Thimesch, R-Cunningham

Jene Vickrey, R-Louisburg

Chuck Weber, R-Wichita

John Whitmer, R-Wichita

Kristey Williams, R-Augusta.

These legislators’ contact information can be found here

Full vote here

Categories: News