Government shutdown ends; here’s how Missouri and Kansas officials voted

Was there ever any doubt that Congress would kick the can down the road on the debt ceiling crisis until the last possible moment?

In the end, however, enough noses came up for air from the legislative morass at Capitol Hill to pass a spending bill that averted a countdown to possible economic ruin later in the year.

Here’s how members of Congress from Kansas and Missouri voted last night on whether to approve the spending bill.

Missouri Senate

Roy Blunt (R) – Yes
Claire McCaskill (D) – Yes

Missouri House

Vicky Hartzler (R) – No
Sam Graves (R) – No
Blaine Luetkemeyer (R) – No
Emanuel Cleaver (D) – Yes
Jason Smith (R) – No
Billy Long (R) – No
Ann Wagner (R) – No
Lacy Clay (D) – Yes

Kansas Senate

Pat Roberts (R) – No
Jerry Moran (R) – Yes

Kansas House

Tim Huelskamp (R) – No
Lynn Jenkins (R) – Yes
Kevin Yoder (R) – No
Mike Pompeo (R) – No

Not much in the way of surprises here. Jerry Moran and Lynn Jenkins breaking ranks with Midwestern Republicans was interesting to see.

Moran said he voted to end the shutdown in order to fend off a debt crisis, but said government spending must be corralled between now and the next spending bill.

“It’s a sad day in America when Washington must choose between economic catastrophe now and economic catastrophe later,” Moran said in a statement.

Jenkins said in a statement that she agrees with President Barack Obama in that government can’t keep hopscotching from crisis to crisis.

Last night’s bill funds government obligations through January 15, but another spending bill will have to be approved by February 7. Obama said last night that a resolution to the next debt ceiling crisis won’t wait until the 11th hour, but we’re betting that it almost certainly will.

Categories: News