Freedom Song

The KC Rep’s motto this season is “I am fearless,” and the company is living up to that in its choice of material. The first show, Saved!, explored religion The second, Harriet Jacobs, confronts our national history of slavery with the incredible story of a young slave who hid from her abusive master in a tiny attic for seven years. The wonder is that the strong-willed and intelligent Harriet Jacobs not only survived but also made her way north to freedom and wrote an autobiography. Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl became one of the most powerful narratives of the abolitionist movement. Lydia Diamond’s triumphant play was commissioned by Chicago’s legendary Steppenwolf Theatre and is directed here by Steppenwolf associate artist Jessica Thebus. The production opened Friday and runs through November 21 on the Copaken Stage (13th Street and Walnut, 816-235-2700). Tickets cost $15 to $60. See kcrep.org.

Fri., Oct. 22, 8 p.m.; Sat., Oct. 23, 8 p.m.; Sun., Oct. 24, 7 p.m.; Tue., Oct. 26, 7 p.m.; Wed., Oct. 27, 7 p.m.; Thu., Oct. 28, 7 p.m.; Fri., Oct. 29, 8 p.m.; Sat., Oct. 30, 2 & 8 p.m.; Sun., Oct. 31, 2 p.m.; Tue., Nov. 2, 7 p.m.; Wed., Nov. 3, 7 p.m.; Thu., Nov. 4, 7 p.m.; Fri., Nov. 5, 8 p.m.; Sat., Nov. 6, 2 & 8 p.m.; Sun., Nov. 7, 2 & 7 p.m.; Tue., Nov. 9, 7 p.m.; Wed., Nov. 10, 7 p.m.; Thu., Nov. 11, 7 p.m.; Fri., Nov. 12, 8 p.m.; Sat., Nov. 13, 3 & 8 p.m.; Sun., Nov. 14, 2 & 7 p.m.; Tue., Nov. 16, 7 p.m.; Wed., Nov. 17, 7 p.m.; Thu., Nov. 18, 7 p.m.; Fri., Nov. 19, 8 p.m.; Sat., Nov. 20, 3 & 8 p.m.; Sun., Nov. 21, 2 p.m., 2010