Electric Company

“Making it rain” needn’t always refer to Lil’ Wayne and his entourage commandeering a strip club to shower Washingtons on a juicy booty. In the family-friendly confines of the Coterie Theatre (2450 Grand, level one), Director Kyle Hatley approaches the notion more literally: “We’re really going to do our best to make it seem like you’re really in a thunderstorm,” he says of the Coterie’s production of Ben Franklin’s Apprentice. The dazzling special effects include a cast of local heavyweights, endeavoring to portray the legendary inventor, statesman and American icon as being more human and relatable than the portrait of Weezy’s benjamins. The curtain rises at 7 p.m., and first-nighters can attend a free reception afterward. Apprentice runs Tuesday through Sunday through May 7th with 10 a.m. and 12 p.m. weekday performances, 7 p.m. Friday shows and 2 p.m. weekend matinees. Tickets are $15 for adults; $10 for children, students and seniors. Order online at coterietheater.org or call 816-474-6552.

Tue., April 5, 10 a.m. & noon; Wed., April 6, 10 a.m. & noon; Thu., April 7, 10 a.m. & noon; Fri., April 8, 10 a.m., 12 & 7 p.m.; Tue., April 12, 10 a.m.; Wed., April 13, 10 a.m. & noon; Thu., April 14, 10 a.m. & noon; Fri., April 15, 10 a.m., 12 & 7 p.m.; Sat., April 16, 2 p.m.; Sun., April 17, 2 p.m.; Tue., April 19, 10 a.m. & noon; Wed., April 20, 10 a.m. & noon; Thu., April 21, 10 a.m. & noon; Fri., April 22, 10 a.m., 12 & 7 p.m.; Sat., April 23, 2 p.m.; Tue., April 26, 10 a.m. & noon; Wed., April 27, 10 a.m. & noon; Thu., April 28, 10 a.m. & noon; Fri., April 29, 10 a.m., 12 & 7 p.m.; Sat., April 30, 2 p.m.; Sun., May 1, 2 p.m.; Tue., May 3, 10 a.m. & noon; Wed., May 4, 10 a.m. & noon; Thu., May 5, 10 a.m. & noon; Fri., May 6, 10 a.m., 12 & 7 p.m.; Sat., May 7, 2 p.m., 2011