Big Rip and Martin City Brewing Co. announce anniversary parties


This year’s beer-fest calendar is filling up fast. The latest: The Big Rip Brewing Co.’s second-birthday party is set for Saturday, June 6.

Big Rip co-founder Josh Collins tells The Pitch to expect “only local breweries from the four-state area.” 

Last year’s party sold out, and tickets for this year’s event may be even harder to come by, as Collins says they’re considering making this year’s event a little more intimate and selling fewer tickets. Nothing is set in stone, though, and more details are to come. But add Get Ripped Brewfest to the growing list of beer fests in Kansas City this year.

In other anniversary news, Martin City Brewing Co. is celebrating its first birthday with a shrimp boil on Saturday, February 7. Expect special barrel-aged beer tappings, all-you-can-eat shrimp, giveaways and bands from 5 p.m. to midnight. Tickets cost $10.

So far, here’s the schedule (and thanks to craftbeerkc.com for the assist): 

Saturday, February 7
75th Street Big Chill strong beer and chili tasting event
Martin City Brewing Co. birthday party and shrimp boil 

Saturday, March 7
Kansas Craft Brewers Expo in Lawrence

Saturday, March 14
KC Brew Festival at Union Station
Blarney Brewoff in Lee’s Summit

Saturday, April 25
Parkville Microbrew Fest
Kansas City On Tap at Berkley Riverfront Park

Saturday, May 16
Tour of KC Real Ale Fest in Lee’s Summit

Saturday, May 30
Kansas City Museum’s KC Microbrews & BBQ Festival

Saturday, June 13
Westport Summer Beer Festival
Worlds of Fun Barbecue & Brew Festival

Sunday, June 14
Worlds of Fun Barbecue & Brew Festival

Saturday, June 20
Boulevardia Taps & Tastes
Worlds of Fun Barbecue & Brew Festival

Sunday, June 21
Worlds of Fun Barbecue & Brew Festival

Friday, August 21, and Saturday, August 22
Screenland Arts & Crafts at Screenland Armour

Saturday, November 7
The Pitch‘s Crafts & Drafts

A few fests have yet to publicly announce dates. Those include Hopfest (May?), KC Nanobrew Festival (June?), UNICO Microbrew Fest in Zona Rosa (August?), High Plains Brewhoff (September?), KC Beerfest in the Power & Light District (September?), Rock & Run Brewery’s Rot & Ruin festival in Liberty (October?) and the Westport Strong Ale Festival (November?). 

Categories: News