Benjamin Button’s Cousin

No small theater in town is as daring as Metropolitan Ensemble Theatre (3614 Main), that thriving, loose-limbed concern whose directors fill their storefront space with sand by the ton if, say, a beach is called for, and with cast members by the dozen when mounting great, rarely performed plays such as Arthur Miller’s The View From the Bridge or William Saroyan’s The Time of Your Life. For smaller shows, including tonight’s premiere of David Lindsay-Abaire’s time-obsessed family comedy Kimberly Akimbo, MET gathers talent. To tell this story of a girl who ages more rapidly than her parents, director Bob Paisley has wrangled Jan Chapman, Missy Koonce and — for some all-in-the-family verisimilitude — the gifted father-son duo of Scott and Sam Cordes. Satiric yet unafraid of sentiment, Lindsay-Abaire here takes aim at the way this country’s emphasis on the commercial infantilizes grown-ups. By all means, bring your folks to tonight’s 7:30 opening. For tickets, call 816-569-3226.

Thu., Jan. 7, 7:30 p.m.; Fri., Jan. 8, 7:30 p.m.; Sat., Jan. 9, 7:30 p.m.; Sun., Jan. 10, 2 p.m.; Wed., Jan. 13, 7:30 p.m.; Thu., Jan. 14, 7:30 p.m.; Fri., Jan. 15, 7:30 p.m.; Sat., Jan. 16, 7:30 p.m.; Sun., Jan. 17, 2 p.m.; Wed., Jan. 20, 7:30 p.m.; Thu., Jan. 21, 7:30 p.m.; Fri., Jan. 22, 7:30 p.m.; Sat., Jan. 23, 7:30 p.m.; Sun., Jan. 24, 2 p.m., 2010